ARUCC Groningen & Student Mobility Project

ARUCC e-banner without bulletin and correct pg size


Advancing Student Mobility through Data Exchange

In spring 2014, a group of interested registrarial, pathway, and application centre colleagues held a roundtable discussion at the ARUCC PCCAT biennial conference. The topic focused on international student mobility with a particular focus on encouraging collaboration for secure and efficient transcript data exchange nationally and internationally. The first outcome of that meeting resulted in the formation of the ARUCC Groningen and Student Mobility Task Force, chaired by Kathleen Massey, University Registrar and Executive Director at McGill University. With collaborative partnerships with the Pan-Canadian Consortium on Admissions and Transfer (PCCAT) and the Canadian P20W Education Standards Council User Group (CanPESC), the Task Force recommended that ARUCC should become the first Canadian signatory to the international Groningen Declaration.  ARUCC signed on in May 2015.

The ARUCC executive mandated the Task Force to:

champion the engagement of Canadian institutions in the implementation of the Groningen Declaration by fostering an ethos, culture and network that removes impediments for data portability, and provides the foundation for student mobility. These benefits will be realized throughout the various educational jurisdictions across Canada by fostering provincial models and/or pan-Canadian model of data exchange that serves Canada and the world.

Bringing the Groningen Declaration to Canada

Currently, ARUCC is consulting with various organizations including Canadian application centres to capture advice and insights for the next phase of the project. For information, review the following  pdfResearch Request for Information 2017.

pdfJune 2017 Bulletin English Hot off the press icon

pdfPresentation for use by the community (updated September 2017).

pdfProject Brief Fall 2017

pdfConsultations conducted to-date


ARUCC is poised to move this initiative forward into the next phase.

Groningen Conference 2017 Charmaine Hack Andrew Arida and Romesh Vadivel

The ARUCC Groningen Steering Team in action at Groningen 2017!

Left to Right: Andrew Arida, Charmaine Hack, Romesh Vadivel

In Partnership

ARUCC has been partnering with the Pan-Canadian Consortium on Admissions and Transfer (PCCAT) and the Canadian P20W Education Standards Council User Group (CanPESC) to realize the opportunities the Groningen initiative offers for Canada.

PCCAT Logo EN                                                                     PESC Cdn Logo

2017 ARUCC Groningen and Student Mobility Steering Committee

Representing ARUCC: Charmaine Hack, President, ARUCC, Registrar, Ryerson University and Chair of the Steering Committee; Andrew Arida, Past-President, ARUCC, Assistant Registrar, University of British Columbia; Romesh Vadivel, Vice-President, ARUCC, Assistant Registrar, McGill University

Representing the Pan-Canadian Council on Admissions and Transfer (PCCAT): Dr. Rob Fleming, Executive Director and Co-Chair, British Columbia Council on Articulation and Transfer; Dr. Robert Adamoski, Director, Research and Admissions, British Columbia Council on Articulation and Transfer

Representing CanPESC: Leisa Wellsman, Co-Chair, and Cathy van Soest, Co-Chair

Secretariat and Project Leadership Support to the Steering Committee: Joanne Duklas, Duklas Cornerstone Consulting, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

The Purpose of the Groningen Initiative

The Groningen Declaration Network is an international organization that “…seeks common ground in best serving the academic and professional mobility needs of citizens worldwide by bringing together key stakeholders in the Digital Student Data Ecosystem.”

The overarching goal of the Groningen Declaration is to create a framework to improve the international mobility of people, promoting world-wide education and economic development through the secure electronic exchange of postsecondary student information. ARUCC became a signatory to the Groningen Declaration principles in 2015. 

Additional Resources

Activities in 2015 and 2016

Members of the ARUCC Groningen and Student Mobility Task Force spent many months in 2016 consulting with the Canadian postsecondary stakeholder community with two goals in mind: to raise awareness about the Groningen initiative and to identify future participation in provincial and/or pan-Canadian data exchange initiatives, particularly the development of a Canadian model for exchanging digital postsecondary student information, such as transcript data.

In 2015 and 2016, the ARUCC Groningen and Student Mobility Task Force invited institutions to participate in a consultation process about the creation of a Canadian model for sharing digital postsecondary student information among postsecondary institutions, with the goal of enhancing student mobility across Canada and internationally. The Task Force completed its work in June 2016 and tabled a final report at the ARUCC biennial conference. With the Task Force recommendations in hand which were overwhelmingly endorsed by the membership.

The Task Force members gratefully acknowledge the work and participation of the hundreds of volunteers who participated in the 2016 pan-Canadian consultation process. The ARUCC Executive looks forward to continuing the consultation as we move forward with bringing Groningen to Canada.

View the outcomes of the ARUCC Groningen and Student Mobility Task Force 2016 consultation exercise below:

Members of the 2016 ARUCC Groningen and Student Mobility Task Force

Kathleen Massey, Task Force Chair; University Registrar and Executive Director (Enrolment Services), McGill University

Andrew Arida, President, Association of Registrars of the Universities and Colleges of Canada (ARUCC); Director, Undergraduate Admissions, University of British Columbia

Angelique Saweckzo, Registrar, University of Calgary

Annik Gélineau, Registraire adjoint, University of Montreal

Cathy Van Soest, Manager, Student Data Services, BCcampus

Dr. Rob Fleming, Executive Director and Co-Chair, British Columbia Council on Admissions and Transfer (BCCAT)

Dr. Robert Adamoski, Associate Director, Admissions and Research, British Columbia Council on Admissions and Transfer (BCCAT)

Janine Hoover, Associate Registrar, Registration, Records, and Fees, Conestoga College

Joanne Duklas, Researcher and Consultant, Duklas Cornerstone Consulting

Leisa Wellsman, Manager, Applicant Services, Ontario Universities’ Application Centre (OUAC)

Lori MacMullen, Executive Director, Canadian University Council of Chief Information Officers (CUCCIO) - Guest

Marie-Claude Binette, Registraire, University of Montreal

Melissa Pool, University Registrar, McMaster University

Pascal Robichaud, Registraire, Université de Moncton

Romesh Vadivel, Director, Service Point, McGill University

Tony Norrad, Associate Registrar, Admissions, Grant MacEwan University